Poetry

127. an exchange of time

what I know of Time

12:54 p.m.
I am trying to remember the myriad ways I knew
to put you down. I used to recite them all
before sleep, my true calling,
my diploma that almost turned into a PhD.

Today, I cannot bear it if you’re kind.

12:59 p.m.
I am trying to remember the catalog of your
movements. There was a time when I could tell
whether your father got drunk again last night, whether
your mother was quiet. This was more of an art, than a science.

Today, I am not drunk enough to be an artist.

1:00 p.m.
You’re still my greatest opus. I notice, your
dad is probably out of town. Your mom
made pancakes for breakfast. Let’s  keep this clean.
I give you your records, you give me my books.

Let’s keep it clean. Don’t make a liar out of me.
Don’t ask if I “ever loved you”.

Today, for a second time, for a second,
I still do.

You think, therefore you are.

