Poetry

123. when Gretel realized home was not a place (and got lost all the same)

evil has never loved you as i do

While my lips were sore and chapped,
while you were still pretending to be a man,
I was sneaking a trail of kisses across your body to remember where
home is
when winter ends.

(Red smudges of me all over you.)

While I was resisting the turn of the seasons,
while you were crying your faults out into the fog of the council estate,
I was biting my tongue to keep from saying you
were perfect
in that second.

(Blood on snow.)

While you were polishing your baby milk-white armor,
while I was trying to ignite your charcoal crown,
you said you couldn’t wait for summer. It’s so cold outside.
I’d given you
two of my favorite fairy-tales.

(And you still weren’t satisfied.)

___________________________________________________________________________________

Quick personal note: I’ve grown quite fond of these fairy tale metaphors in my poems as of late, it would seem. I don’t know what gives, but I kind of like it! Perhaps this is the beginning (or the middle) of a series of sorts. Browsing through some of my (very) early work, I realized I’ve been using references to children’s stories from when I first started writing, so perhaps that’s something for me to “Freud” about when I find the time. Comments and thoughts on fairy tales and their use in poetry/writing more than welcome, as well as random views about their cultural and societal significance if you feel like debating! :)

10 thoughts on “123. when Gretel realized home was not a place (and got lost all the same)

  1. Pingback: 123. when Gretel realized home was not a place (and got lost all the same) | Music and Words

  2. “While you were polishing your baby milk-white armor,
    while I was trying to ignite your charcoal crown,” these lines especially resonate with me. Perhaps because I use a lot of color in my writing.

You think, therefore you are.

